Friday, May 8, 2015

Alive by Scott Sigler Review


Date to be Published: July 14, 2015

Add it on Goodreads

Pre-order it on Amazon or B&N

Number of Pages: 368

Publisher: Del Rey

First Thoughts:

This book has changed me in so many ways, there really is no way to express how this book affected me. I can’t really tell if the way it affected me was good or bad. It definitely creeped me out from the very beginning. Freaked me out too. This book reminded me of “Lord of the Flies”, from the characters to the very situation they’re in. Overall this book was unique and interesting, not my favorite book but I’ve read far worse books.

Goodreads Summary:

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

Plot:

There isn’t much I can talk about when it comes to the plot because at the end of the book the author asked the reader to not reveal any of the surprises that came up throughout the book. But I can tell you one thing, it is full of ups and downs and in-betweens. When you think you know what’s going to happen the next moment the game changes.

Romance:

There really wasn’t any romance in this book, it was all about survival and trying to make sense of everything, There were hints of romance but nothing concrete or get excited about.

Characters:

Hmmm….they were definitely unique and full of life. They weren’t flat characters, you could actually connect with them. Though Em or also known as Savage was a little hard to connect with. The way she thought and acted just wasn’t how I would have liked her to act. Bishop was pretty cool I think he was my favorite character even if he so acted like a 12 year old boy, lol. As for the rest of the secondary characters they did their part and were either likeable or not likeable.

Transformation of Character:

Em changed a lot throughout this book but you would too if you went through all the horrors and events she went through. Did she become a better person? Yes and no, she became a different person but whether she became someone admirable or likeable is up for discussion.

Description:

There was a lot of deep and analyzing description in this book. I think at times the author got too detailed. It really got me to shudder in the dark. The way the author described the dark and the things that hid in the dark was almost too much. She was heavy on using action words to help better describe the situation which made it that much more creepy and horror like. The dialogue was good in the story, seemed to flow with each character. There was some inner dialogue but it helped the reader better understand Em’s thoughts.

Style:

This was written in first person and in one POV. I think it went good with this book because we were able to really understand what was happening in the mind of Em. This being written in only one point of view was good because we were able to focus on one thing at a time. This was a complicated and diverse world. The writing itself was easy and fun to read. The author definitely has a way with words.

Quote of the book:

“ If you run, your enemy will hunt you. Kill your enemy, and you are forever free.”

Last Thoughts:

What I really want to know is, will there be another book? It doesn’t say it was book one of a series but the ending left you hanging. There were still a lot of unanswered questions. There better be a second book, looks like I need to do some research. Anyways even though this book had a few flaws, it was a good read. Creepy and morbid yes but good in its own right. Will I reread it again probably unlikely, But would definitely read the next book just to have some of my questions answered.


My Rating:


8 comments:

  1. Having known what you do now, would you still read it the first time?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Probably not....there were some really disturbing scenes that I wish I can un-see lol.

      Delete
  2. I'm intrigued! I feel like I want to try this...but at the same time, not really :P
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Josheka
    http://reading24x7.blogspot.in/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hey Lacey :)

    Ommmg I love the cover! It's amazinng. A book filled with mystery is for me. :D Although too much détails is not for me ;( Hahaa thanks for sharing it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was definitely a good book just a little disturbing. Have you read Lord of the Flies?

      Delete
  4. Do not take life too seriously. You will never get out of it alive. See the link below for more info.


    #alive
    www.ufgop.org

    ReplyDelete
  5. Reading your article is such a privilege. It does inspire me, I hope that you can share more positive thoughts. Visit my site too. The link is posted below.

    n8fan.net

    www.n8fan.net

    ReplyDelete